Call for nominations for the
2014 APUA Leadership Award!

The APUA Leadership Award will be presented to an outstanding individual or organization demonstrating extraordinary leadership in promoting the prudent use of antibiotics in an effort to contain antibiotic resistance. Consideration will be given to professionals in the fields of basic science, public policy, and clinical practice, with an emphasis on innovation.

To nominate, please fill out and submit the nomination form by email to by August 15, 2014.



Call for nominations for the
2014 APUA Chapter Award!

The APUA Chapter Leadership Award will be presented to a chapter that has exhibited tireless effort and leadership to promote the prudent use of antibiotics in its country and contain antibiotic resistance. Consideration will be given to advances made in basic science, national public health policy, and clinical practice.

To nominate, please fill out and submit the chapter nomination form by email to by August 15, 2014.


APUA Leadership Award 2013:

Keith Klugman, MD, PhD

APUA is pleased to award Dr. Keith Klugman, Director for Pneumonia at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the 2013 Leadership Award. Keith is a recognized global expert on antibiotic resistance in pneumonia. He helped develop the pneumococcal cojugate vaccine, which is now part of the immunization regimen for children in the U.S. and being rolled out globally. This important vaccine has been credited with reducing invasive pneumococcal disease in the U.S. by 80% since 2000. 

Keith has chaired or served on numerous expert committees for the World Health Organization (WHO) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), among other organizations. He has published more than 450 scientific papers on the subjects ofpneumonia, meningitis, antimicrobial resistance, and vaccines for bacterial pathogens. 

Past Recipients of the APUA Leadership Award:

Roman Kozlov, M.D., M.Sc., D.Sc. 
of APUA Russia, the Insititute of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy (IAC) of Smolensk State Medical Academy, the Scientific Center for Monitoring of Antimicrobial Resistance of the Federal Agency for Healthcare & Social Development, and the Interregional Association for Clinical Microbiology & Antimicrobial Chemotherapy (IACMAC). 
For sustained leadership and collaborative efforts with IACMAC and IAC to contain antibiotic resistance in Russia and the adjacent region.

Giuseppe Cornaglia, M.D., Ph.D. of the European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
For his invaluable efforts in establishing expert study groups and educational initiatives in developing countries to control antibiotic resistance and improve treatment.
Kumud K. Kafle, M.D., Ph.D.
of APUA-Nepal
For their extraordinary multi-hospital coordination work to increase practitioner awareness of antibiotic resistance trends and treatment guidelines in the Kathmandu region.

Otto Cars, M.D., Ph.D.
of the Swedish Institute of Infectious Disease Control
For leadership of ReAct and Strama in advocating for political action to contain antibiotic resistance.
Miguel Peredo López-Velarde, M.D., Ph.D.
of APUA-Mexico
For introducing strong national surveillance, education, and legislation to improve antibiotic use in Mexico.

Martin Blaser, MD
Neil Fishman, MD

of the Infectious Diseases Society of America
In recognition of their exemplary leadership in promoting government action to improve antibiotic use and contain antibiotic resistance.

Dr. Inge C. Gyssens
Professor Jos W.M. Van Der Meer
Professor Henri S. Verbrugh
Professor John E. Degener

Professor Christina M. Vandenbroucke – Grauls
Professor Peter J.M. Van Den Broek

of WIP
In recognition of their outstanding leadership and aggressive work in infection control to slow the spread and emergence of antibiotic resistance.

Dr. Wasif Ali Kahn
of The International Center for Diarrheal Disease Research, Bangladesh
Sabeena Ahmed, M.Sc.
of Clinical Research and Service Centre, Bangladesh
In recognition of their outstanding leadership in the Scaling Up of Zinc for Young children with diarrhea (SUZY) project.

Dr. Anna Lönnroth
of the European Research Commission Program
In recognition of her outstanding leadership in mobilizing the European Commission’s research activities on antimicrobial resistance.
Dr. Herman Goossens
of The Laboratory of Medical Microbiology, University Hospital Antwerp
In recognition of his exemplary multifaceted research supported by the European Commission to promote the prudent use of antibiotics in humans.

Dr. Richard Besser
of U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
In recognition of his national leadership in promoting a successful antimicrobial resistance management program throughout the United States.

Dr. Gabriel Schmunis
of The Pan American Health Organization
For leadership in promoting antimicrobial resistance management programs throughout Latin America

Dr. Frank M. Aarestrup and Dr. Henrik C. Wegener
of the Danish Veterinary Institute
For scientific leadership in improving antibiotic use in agriculture
Robert L. Langer
of McDonald’s Corporation
For that company’s plan to phase-out growth promoting antibiotics in its meat supply

Dr. David Bell
of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Dr. Marissa Miller
of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases at the U.S. National Institutes of Health, and
Dr. Murray Lumpkin
of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
For development of the “U.S. Interagency Antimicrobial Resistance Plan”

Dr. Rosamund Williams
of the World Health Organization
For spearheading the “WHO Global Strategy to Contain Antimicrobial Resistance”

   View highlights from the 2010 member reception and award ceremony:


2014 Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics | 136 Harrison Ave, M&V Suite 811, Boston, MA, 02111 | Tel 617.636.0966 | apua@tufts.eduHome | Search | Contact Us