Skip to main content
Close Directory Section

University Leadership

Our leaders come to Tufts from leadership positions in public and private sectors around the globe because they understand the promise and critical importance of universities in framing our future. Taken as a whole, their experience represents a cross section of those leading our nation and our world.

Caroline Genco
Provost and Senior Vice President ad interim


Academic Leadership

Kevin Dunn
Vice Provost

William Shaw
Vice Provost for Research ad interim

Diana Chigas
Senior International Officer & Associate Provost

School of Arts and Sciences

James M. Glaser

Samuel (Sam) Thomas
Dean of Academic Affairs

Heather S. Nathans
Dean of Academic Affairs

Nate Harrison
Dean of the School of the Museum of Fine Arts ad interim

Bárbara M. Brizuela
Dean of Academic Affairs
Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Ayanna K. Thomas
Dean of Research for Arts and Sciences

Christopher Helmuth
Executive Administrative Dean

Carmen Lowe
Dean of Undergraduate Studies

School of Engineering

Kyongbum Lee
Dean ad interim

Fiorenzo Omenetto
Dean of Research

Karen Panetta
Dean of Graduate Education

Kevin Oye
Executive Director of Tufts Gordon Institute 

James Sarazen
Executive Administrative Dean

Chris Swan
Dean of Undergraduate Education

School of Arts and Sciences
and School of Engineering

Joseph "JT" Duck
Dean of Admissions

JoAnn Jack
Associate Dean of Student Services

Ellise LaMotte
Associate Dean of Student Diversity, Inclusion, and Success

Camille Lizarríbar
Dean of Student Affairs and Chief Student Affairs Officer

Cummings School
of Veterinary Medicine

Alastair Cribb

Joseph P. McManus
Executive Associate Dean

M. Sawkat Anwer
Associate Dean for Research

Nicholas Frank
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

School of Dental Medicine

Nadeem Karimbux

Mark Gonthier
Executive Associate Dean


The Fletcher School

Rachel Kyte

Bhaskar Chakravorti
Dean of Global Business

Kelly Sims Gallagher
Academic Dean

Maribel Blanco
Executive Associate Dean

Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

Dariush Mozaffarian

Matt Hast
Assistant Dean of Student Affairs

Edward Kleifgen
Executive Administrative Dean

Elena Naumova
Academic Dean for Faculty

Edward Saltzman
Academic Dean for Education

Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging

Sarah Booth

Mark Wesley
Administrative Director


School of Medicine

Helen Boucher
Dean ad interim

Scott K. Epstein, M.D.
Dean for Educational Affairs

Henry Klapholz, M.D.
Dean for Clinical Affairs

Amy B. Kuhlik, M.D.
Dean for Student Affairs

David A. Neumeyer, M.D.
Dean for Admissions

Thomas Malone
Executive Associate Dean

Aviva Must, Ph.D.
Dean for Public Health and Professional Degree Programs

Joyce Sackey, M.D.
Dean for Multicultural Affairs and Global Health

School of Biomedical Sciences

Daniel Jay

Daniel Volchok
Associate Dean

Jonathan M. Tisch College
of Civic Life

Dayna Cunningham

Peter Levine
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs

Diane Ryan
Associate Dean for Programs and Administration

University College

Joe Auner

Karen Mulder
Executive Associate Dean



University Administration

Marty Ray
Chief of Staff and Assistant Secretary of the Corporation

Michael (Mike) Howard
Executive Vice President

Elizabeth McClain
Associate Treasurer

Mary R. Jeka
Senior Vice President for University Relations
and General Counsel

Eric Johnson
Senior Vice President for University Advancement

Sara Judge
Vice President for Development

James M. Hurley
Vice President for Finance and Treasurer

Michael Rodman
Vice President for Communications and Marketing

Christopher M. Sedore
Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

Barbara Stein
Vice President for Operations

Paul J. Tringale
Secretary of the Corporation

Trustee Leadership

Peter R. Dolan

Jeffrey M. Moslow
Vice Chair




Board of Trustees

Trustee Biographies
A glance at the men and women who currently serve the university as trustees.

Trustees Emeriti
Trustees who have been elected to this honorary status upon completion of their terms as a recognition of their past service.

Historical Trustees
An historic list of Trustees of Tufts University from 1852 to present.

University-wide Faculty Senate
The university-wide faculty senate provides input on university-wide plans and policies, fosters collaboration among the university’s schools, and consults with the president, provost and school deans to offer recommendations on matters of academic and non-academic administration. The senate, comprised of elected members from each of the schools, meets monthly during the academic year.
Visit the Faculty Senate Website